Read It: Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

Read It: Slasher Girls & Monster Boys

No comments
26128509
Buy It

Title: Slasher Girls & Monster Boys
Author: April Genevieve Tucholke (Editor)
Featured Monster: Various
Spookiness: 2/5 
Rating: 4/5
Goodreads Synopsis:

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Lois Duncan, and Daphne Du Maurier comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best writers of YA thrillers and horror

A host of the smartest young adult authors come together in this collection of scary stories and psychological thrillers curated by Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea’s April Genevieve Tucholke.

Each story draws from a classic tale or two—sometimes of the horror genre, sometimes not—to inspire something new and fresh and terrifying. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From bloody horror to supernatural creatures to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for any reader looking for a thrill.

Fans of TV’s The Walking Dead, True Blood, and American Horror Story will tear through tales by these talented authors:

Stefan Bachmann
Leigh Bardugo
Kendare Blake
A. G. Howard
Jay Kristoff
Marie Lu
Jonathan Maberry
Danielle Paige
Carrie Ryan
Megan Shepherd
Nova Ren Suma
McCormick Templeman
April Genevieve Tucholke
Cat Winters

Review: I’m not usually big on reading short story collections, but I really loved this one. Some stories are spookier than others, but all together, it is a phenomenal collection. My favourite story was probably either “Hide and Seek” by Megan Shepherd or “Sleepless” by Jay Kristoff. A couple of the stories were weaker than the others, but overall the collection was really strong. I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys short stories, YA literature, or light thrillers.

Leave a Reply